UNCW alumni logo full color

Awards & Scholarships

Alumni Association Distinguished Alumni Awards

The UNCW Alumni Association recognizes alumni and friends for their outstanding achievements and service to the university and community. Nominations are open until Oct. 15, and can be found with the corresponding award below.

View past Distinguished Award recipients »

Distinguished Young Alumnus/a Award

Honors alumni demonstrating commitment to the university and the association’s mission, vision and values. Open to alumni who have graduated within the last 10 years.

2025 Award criteria and nominations »

Distinguished Alumnus/a Award

Honors alumni who provide outstanding service to the university and have achieved distinction in professional accomplishments.

2025 Award criteria and nominations »

Distinguished Citizen Award

Honors community members who provide uncommon and outstanding service to the university.

2025 Award criteria and nominations »

Distinguished Diversity Award

Honors individuals who have made exceptional efforts and contributions in the areas of diversity, equity, inclusion and social justice.

2025 Award criteria and nominations »


2024 Alumni Award Honorees

Professional School Awards

Cameron School of Business Outstanding Alumni Awards

The UNCW Cameron School of Business (CSB) annually recognizes alumni who have achieved honor and distinction within their professional or personal lives. The awards are presented at the CSB Outstanding Alumni event during Business Week in the spring.

Recipient Information »

School of Nursing Annual Alumni Awards

The UNCW School of Nursing Outstanding Alumnus of the Year Award is presented annually at the Nurses Day Banquet in May. Nominees for this award must have graduated in 2014 or prior and exemplify the spirit of excellence in nursing directly working with patients, along with providing service to their community. Nomination forms are available in the spring and accepted from alumni, faculty, staff and community members.

Recipient Information »

Watson College of Education Alumni Awards

The UNCW Watson College of Education (WCE) Alumni Chapter recognizes alumni who have made significant contributions to education and represent the commitment to excellence typified by the Watson College of Education. Nominations for these annual awards are available in the spring and accepted from alumni, faculty, staff and community members. The award is presented at a WCE alumni reception.

Recipient Information »

collage of students who received awards

Student Awards

UNCW students, staff and faculty are invited to nominate graduating seniors for the two association-sponsored awards listed below. Learn more »

William A. Bryan Senior Leader Award

Honors members of the senior class who best exemplify the ideals of service to others, collaboration, leadership and devotion to UNCW, while maintaining a cumulative GPA of 3.00 or higher. The recipient receives an inscribed clock from the UNCW Alumni Association.

Rachel Freeman Service Leadership Award

Honors members of the senior class who best embody the ideals of service to others, commitment to social justice and collaborative leadership. The recipient receives a cash award of $250 sponsored by the UNCW Alumni Association.

Faculty Awards

J. Marshall Crews Distinguished Faculty Award

The UNCW Alumni Association annually recognizes an outstanding faculty member while honoring a leader who helped shape Wilmington College's growth into UNCW. The J. Marshall Crews Distinguished Faculty Award honors a faculty member who exhibits leadership in service, student support, community service, and outreach efforts. The award will be presented at the UNCW Faculty Meeting, and the recipient will receive a $500 stipend, one of Dr. Crews' hand-carved bowls and a plaque.

Nominate a faculty member »

Other UNCW faculty awards »

2024 J. Marshall Crews Award Recipient

Dr. Martin Posey

Professor in the Department of Biology & Marine Biology and a Primary Investigator in the UNCW Benthic Ecology Lab

Learn more »

J Marshall Crews Award winner

Alumni Association Scholarships

The UNCW Alumni Association annually awards more than $50,000 in scholarships funded by alumni contributions. To apply for one of these awards, visit the UNCW scholarship application managed by the Office of Scholarships & Financial Aid.

Scholarships awarded by the Alumni Association
  • Alumni Legacy Scholarship
  • Alumni Graduate Scholarship
  • Alumni Association Bob King '66 Scholarship
  • Cape Fear Bank/John Cameron Coburn Alumni Scholarship
  • Gerald Shinn UNCW Alumni Association Merit Scholarship
  • Geraldine King Morris Nursing Scholarship
  • Hugh Henry Fox UNCW Alumni Association Scholarship
  • Jim A. Humphries Memorial Scholarship
  • Lewis/Wiley Alumni Graduate Fellowship
  • Mary Catherine, Susan & Elizabeth James Alumni Association Scholarship
  • Perry Daniel Lockamy Jr. '63 Memorial UNCW Alumni Association Graduate Scholarship
  • Sara Fussell Messer '66 Scholarship
  • The UNCW Alumni Association Scholarship for Diversity
  • The Alumni Association Patricia Corcoran Smith '72 Scholarship
  • Watson School of Education Alumni Chapter Scholarship
  • Wilmington College Alumni Scholarship
Scholarships established in part by the Alumni Association
  • The Betty Jo Welch Communications Studies Alumni Scholarship
  • The Denis G. Carter Scholarship
  • The Triad Alumni Chapter Scholarship

Questions? Contact the Scholarships & Financial Aid Office at (910) 962.3177 or scholarships@uncw.edu.

pair of glasses resting on a student research book
Want to help support student scholarships?

North Carolina residents who own a custom UNCW license plate support these awards through a portion of their annual fees.

Donations can be made to a specific scholarship by searching for its name on this secure online gift form.

Learn about establishing your own endowed or annual scholarship »